

## Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability

## **REGULAR MEETING MINUTES**

June 21, 2023, 1:30 P.M. 5400 N Grand Blvd., Ste 135 Oklahoma City, OK 73112

**COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT:** John Daniel, Dr. Katherine Curry, Ken Parker,

Kathryn Szallar, Geoff Kingsley

**COMMISSION MEMBERS ABSENT**: Dr. Joanna Lein

OTHER REGULAR ATTENDEES: Office of Educational Quality and Accountability

Staff: Renée Launey-Rodolf, Jennifer Gambrell, Abby Murphey, Jerry Shay, Angie Bookout, David

Kurt, Lecrecia Schmidt, and Ashley Poole

**VISITORS:** Dr. Ashlyn Fiegener, OSU-Tulsa, Greg Hallman,

Ocupath, Dr. Chris Keller, Cameron University, Dr. Jennifer Dennis, Cameron University, Dr. Vanessa Anton, Northeastern State University, Charles

Lindsey-Outlaw, LegisOK

**Call to Order:** Dr. Katherine Curry called the meeting to order at 1:33 p.m.

**Introduction of Commission Members and Roll Call:** Dr. Curry asked for the roll call to be taken. Five Commission members were present, and it was established that a quorum existed.

**Welcome from Ms. Renee Launey-Rodolf:** Ms. Launey-Rodolf, OEQA Interim Executive Director, welcomed everyone to the meeting.

**Approval of Minutes from the May 17, 2023 Commission Meeting:** Ms. Szallar made a motion to approve the minutes of the May 17, 2023 Commission meeting as submitted. Mr. Daniel seconded the motion. The motion passed per the following vote:

| Mr. Daniel: | approve | Ms. Szallar:  | approve |
|-------------|---------|---------------|---------|
| Dr. Lein:   | absent  | Mr. Parker:   | approve |
| Dr. Curry:  | approve | Mr. Kingsley: | approve |

**Approval of Minutes from the June 12, 2023 Commission Meeting:** Mr. Parker made a motion to approve the minutes of the June 12, 2023 Commission meeting as submitted. Mr. Daniel seconded the motion. The motion passed per the following vote:

| Mr. Daniel: | approve | Ms. Szallar:  | approve |
|-------------|---------|---------------|---------|
| Dr. Lein:   | absent  | Mr. Parker:   | approve |
| Dr. Curry:  | approve | Mr. Kingsley: | approve |

**Discussion and Action: Continued State Accreditation for Cameron University:** Angie Bookout spoke about the process for accreditation and the visit to Cameron University. Dr. Anton spoke about the visit. Dr. Keller then spoke. Mr. Parker made a motion to continue accreditation for seven years. Mr. Daniel seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

| Mr. Daniel: | approve | Ms. Szallar:  | approve |
|-------------|---------|---------------|---------|
| Dr. Lein:   | absent  | Mr. Parker:   | approve |
| Dr. Curry:  | abstain | Mr. Kingsley: | abstain |

Executive Session Pursuant to 25 O.S. §307(B)(1): The Commission voted to go into Executive Session as authorized by 25 O.S. §307(B)(1) to discuss "employment, hiring, appointment, promotion, demotion, disciplining, or resignation" of an Executive Director for OEQA. The vote to go into Executive Session passed per the following vote:

| Mr. Daniel: | approve | Ms. Szallar:  | approve |
|-------------|---------|---------------|---------|
| Dr. Lein:   | absent  | Mr. Parker:   | approve |
| Dr. Curry:  | approve | Mr. Kingsley: | approve |

**Return to Open Session:** Ms. Szallar made a motion to return to Open Session. Mr. Parker seconded the motion The Commission returned to Open Session at 2:40 p.m. per the following vote:

| Mr. Daniel: | approve | Ms. Szallar:  | approve |
|-------------|---------|---------------|---------|
| Dr. Lein:   | absent  | Mr. Parker:   | approve |
| Dr. Curry:  | approve | Mr. Kingsley: | approve |

The meeting adjourned at 2:43 p.m. The minutes of the June 21, 2023 regular meeting of the Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability were approved (circle one)

as submitted with corrections

on July 19, 2023.

| Signed:                |                         |
|------------------------|-------------------------|
| Dr. Katherine Curry    | Mrs. Jennifer Gambrell, |
| Secretary of Education | OEQA Director           |